tr en de fr gr bg


Institutional web site
Home Page Contact
Bülten almak için eposta adresinizi sistemimize kaydebilirsiniz.

The Golden Belt

The first belt tradition began with “Kurtdereli Belt” given to the head wrestler by General Directorate of Body Training for a year in 1939 because of the death of Mehmet Wrestler from Kurtdere. This belt consisted of unwritten ten medals. The winner-head wrestler’s name would be written on these medals every year. It was decided to present the belt to the wrestler whose name is written three times in 10 years. Hüseyin Alkaya, the head wrestler of 1939-1940 and 1940 years, have become the permanent owner of the belt. But this belt was not golden.

The Golden Belt tradition, the most prestigious award of Historical Kırkpınar Oil Wrestling,  was prepared and implemented by Municipality of Edirne in 1960 for the first time. The golden belt is the culmination of a wrestler’s wrestling career. It is designed specifically for Kırkpınar Oil Wrestling Festival and made of 1400 grams , 22 karat gold.

The wrestler that progresses to the head wrestler three year consecutively holds the golden belt for good. The golden belt is firstly given to İbrahim Karabacak, the head wrestler of 1960. Until today, the permanent owners are Mustafa Bük from Ordu who is the head wrestler of 1966-1967 and 1968 years, Aydın Demir from Karamürsel who is the head wrestler of 1976-1977 and 1978 years, Hüseyin Çokal from Denizli who is the head wrestler of 1982-1983-1984 years and Ahmet Taşçı from Karamürsel who is the head wrestler of 1990-1991-1992, 1993 and 1995, 1996, 1997 years.







T.C. EDİRNE BELEDİYE BAŞKANLIĞI - Kırkpınar Yağlı Güreşleri Festivali Bilgi ve Dokümantasyon Mrk.
Babademirtaş Mh. Hastane 1 Sok. No:11 22100-EDİRNE +90 284 2134100 © 2015 All rights reserved. Not allowed to be copied content.
1.059 sn.